MIRPUR/ISLAMABAD - Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf candidate Barrister Sultan Mahmood Ch won the LA-III Mirpur by-election by securing 15,691 votes, defeating PPP AJK candidate Ch Muhammad Ashraf who got 12,811 votes in the by-election held on Sunday, according to unofficial results.

According to AJK Election Commission the final result will be announced on March 30 (today). The seat had fallen vacant after the former AJK prime minister and sitting Member of the AJK Legislative Assembly Barrister Sultan Mahmood Chaudhry resigned from the assembly seat leaving the ruling PPP AJK fold and joined the PTI.

Meanwhile, PTI chairman Imran Khan congratulated Barrister Sultan for winning the Mirpur by-poll. He said his party defeated both Nawaz Sharif and Asif Ali Zardari. Khan said he is very happy on the result.

Earlier, polling for the vacant LA-III Mirpur city seat of AJK Legislative Assembly was held in a free, fair and peaceful atmosphere and no untoward incident was reported at any of the polling station in the constituency.

Despite intermittent rain, voters, both male and female, in large number exercised their right of vote. Immediate analysis spoke of over 40 percent of turnout during the polls. The polling remained peaceful whole the day and no untoward incident was reported in any part of the constituency during polling.

Voters used their right of franchise by producing original CNIC (Computerized national identify card at the polling station) at the time of voting.

Although about 81 out of 111 polling stations in the Mirpur city constituency were declared sensitive - yet polling at the sensitive polling stations also remained peaceful besides all other polling stations of men and women, the authorities confirmed to this Correspondent Sunday afternoon.

The polling started at 8.00am in the morning and continued till 5.00pm in the evening without any pause.

A total of 10 candidates belonging to various political parties including Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, Muslim Conference, Jamaat-e-Islami, Jammu Kashmir People's Party, PPP (Shaheed Bhutto) and two independent candidates were in the run for seat.

Mirpur city LA-III constituency comprises a total of 68,315 registered voters. It included 36,253 male and 32,562 female voters. The voters list of LA-III constituency also includes 80,080 registered voters dwelling in New Mirpur city, the new residential abode of Mangla dam raising project affectees located in LA-4 constituency according to the existing delimitation of the constituencies in the district.

Rangers troops who were called in the town to maintain law and order during polling, continued patrolling along with the local police contingents and other officials of the civil administration in different parts of the city.

Local administration had taken all measures to maintain peace and order during the polling.