ISLAMABAD - The Annual Technical Conference (ATC) 2012 is being jointly organised by the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) and Pakistan Association of Pakistan Geoscientists (PAPG) on the theme of “E&P Technologies, Innovations & New Frontiers” on December 3-5 in Islamabad.

The conference is likely to be attended over thousand professionals of exploration & production companies, service providers, professors and students from all over the country. The key note address will be delivered by CEO of OMV Austria.

The pre-conference meeting was chaired by Moin Raza Khan of PPL, who briefed the participants about the conference programme arrangements, technical proceedings, academia participation and other related matters. He expressed his gratitude to all the representatives of the E&P companies and service providers for their financial and technical support in organizing this conference. The meeting was attended by some Chief Executive Officers of E&P companies, service providers and their representatives.

Moin Raza explained that it is only premier event of Pakistan Petroleum Industry in which professionals from E&P companies academia and service provider present their technical papers applications of innovative technologies and share experience. This forum provides excellent opportunity for academia to directly interact with industry and can discuss prevailing technical issues and problems.

There will be two technical sessions after the inauguration of the conference on 4th & 5th December, 2012 which will be followed by panel discussions and recommendations for policy making. The academia will be represented by sixteen universities and about thirty professors and 100 students are likely to attend this conference.

A souvenir will also be published to update ATC delegates about updated statistics of the E&P activities of Pakistan, papers abstracts, highlights of the last year’s ATC, overview of the annual activities of SPE and PAPG. The E&P companies likely to participate are OGDCL, PPL, POL, Mari Gas, OMV, ENI, Halliburton, BHP, Kufpec, Dewan Petroleum, MOL Pakistan Tullow, Premier, Baker Hughes, BGP, UEPL, DDFC OPL, Saif energy, Nuricon, CNPC & PAIGE etc.