LAHORE - Newly-appointed six additional judges of the Lahore high Court (LHC) took oath of their office for a period of one year at a ceremony held here at the judges’ lounge on Tuesday.

LHC Chief Justice Umar Ata Bandial administered the oath to Justice Mehmood Ahmad Bhatti, Justice Muhammad Tariq Abbasi, Justice Arshad Mehmood Tabassum, Justice Ch Muhammad Masood Jahangir, Justice Sadaqat Ali Khan and Justice M Sohail Iqbal Bhatti.

Judges working at principal seat, federal and provincial law officers, senior lawyers and families of the newly-appointed judges graced the occasion. A couple of the newly-elevated judges served as sessions judges while rest of them as lawyers. Justice Tahir Abbasi served as a Sessions Judge Gujrat and Justice Arshad Mehmood Tabbasum was serving as the Anti-Narcotics Judge Rawalpindi.

Justice Sadaqat Ali belongs to Attock and was serving as the Punjab Prosecutor General, Justice Shahid Nadeem Kahlu is from Bahawalpur, Justice Chaudhry Masood Jahangir from Sargodha, Justice Muhammad Ahmed Bhatti from Sialkot and Justice Sohail Iqbal Bhatti belongs to Multan.

With the elevation of these judges, the number of LHC judges reached at 45 against a sanctioned strength of 60. Among them, 33 are confirmed whereas 12 are additional judges.