A rift has emerged in the PTI Rahim Yar Khan chapter over the formation of a 13-member District Organising Committee after dissolution of the earlier one by its central leadership.

The party has dissolved the 18 member District Executive Council formed in July 2015. The PTI’s Central Secretariat released the new order and dissolved the 18 member DEC and formed the new DOC in which 12 members are former ticketholders and one is former district president.

Some old party workers of PTI have expressed reservations over the decision of the party. They say that the leadership had ignored the founder workers who are asset of the party and promoted the persons who were wealthy and came from the other political parties.

According to them, the party also violated its rules and code of conduct which was made after the report of Justice Wajhiud Din that in each DEC, former district president, district secretary general, president women wing, representatives of youth and minority and former runners-up for the seat of president and general secretary will be included.

In the first Intra party elections of PTI in February-March 2013, Rana Raheel was elected as district president and Iqbal Hassan as secretary general. Some political notables of district Rahim Yar Khan including former state interior minister Zafar Iqbal Warriach, former district nazim Sardar Rafiq Haider Leghari, former provincial minister Shaukat Dawood, Mumtaz Mustafa Advocate, Shafiq Leghari and Shahid Talib joined the PTI after the first large public gathering of PTI at Minar-e-Pakistan on 30 October 2011. Later, many other political figures joined the PTI before the general elections of 2013 including Mian Ghous, Emmauddin, Marrium Batool, Makhdoom Maaz Musharaf, Rais Iqbal, Nazir Akbar and Husnain Zafar Warriach and got the party ticket but not a single candidate of PTI succeeded in the elections.

The party did not considered the applications of old workers including district president Rana Raheel Ahmed and vice president Chaudhry Munir Saleem for the tickets. Some insiders say that it was because of provincial president Ijaz Chaudhry who wanted to promote his group members.

Asif Majeed of PML-N and Chaudhry Jahanzeb of PPP also joined the PTI in 2014. In the intra party elections in March 2013 the old workers of the organisation succeeded and new comers were defeated and they started the politics of groups in the organisation.

After the appointment of Rana Raheel as district organiser of DEC in July 2015, majority of ticket holders and other new members formed a group and requested the central organisation to remove Rana Raheel and provided two names from ticket holders for district organiser.

When contacted, Asif Majeed said that Makhdoom Shah Mehmood Qureshi has mandate of any decision. He said that a parson who joined the part before general elections is the old worker of the party. Former president Rana Raheel said that he will obey the decision of leadership and contest the local body elections.