ISLAMABAD - Punjab defeated PEL 2-1 to lift the title of the third National Under-21 Football Championship on Friday here at Jinnah Stadium, Pakistan Sports Complex. President Pakistan Football Federation (PFF) Syed Faisal Salah Hayat graced the final as a chief guest and gave away the prizes amongst the soccer players. Also, secretary PFF Lt. Col (Retd) Ahmed Yar Lodhi and other officials of PFF and Pakistan Sports Board (PSB) were on this eve. Both the teams started the match will slow pace but Asif Mehmood got an opportunity to led his team Punjab in the 5th minutes of the game and he did not disappoint his team-mates and his officials. After this goal, PEL also took some pace to level the game before water break but they could not succeed in their aim despite getting a couple of open chances. The winners were ahead 1-0 interval. Meanwhile, in the second part of the game, Punjab entered the field with new strategy, as they were looking much defensive. However, their strikers were also looking for chance to double the lead and they succeeded to fold their lead in the 60th minute of the game when Abdul Razzak scored a remarkable goal. After going down 0-2, PEL tried their best to reduce their deficit and their players displayed an open game. In the 76th minute of the game, PEL pulled one back when substitute winger Subhan cut the ball in from right corner and striker Muhammad Ibrahim was on hand to slice the ball in the net.On the directions of the Makhdoom Syed Faisal Saleh Hayat, the cash awards were revised, as Punjab's skipper Asif Mehmood took the winning trophy and gold medals from PFF Chief in addition to Rs. 50,000, PEL had to content with silver medals and Rs.30, 000. NWFP took bronze medals and Rs.20, 000. Afghan Football Club's striker Mehmood Khan was judged Most Valuable Player (MVP) and he pocketed Rs. 5000 while leading marksman Asif Mehmood (Punjab, 4 goals) and best goal-keeper Muzammal Hussain (Punjab) also received Rs. 5,000 each. In order to promote sportsmanship, PFF chief had also decided to hand over Rs.10, 000 to winner of fair play trophy to Balochistan, who deserved the award with sportsmanship throughout 11-day show. Imtiaz Ali Shah supervised the final of the Under-21 National Football Championship 2009, supported on the line by Shafaat Habib and Jehangir Khan. Qazi Muhammad Asif acted the duty of Match Commissioner while Asif bin Younos was fourth official. Final standings of the teams: Punjab 2. PEL 3. North West Frontier Province (NWFP) 4. Federally Administrated Tribal Ares (FATA) 5. Chaman's Afghan Football Club 6. Wohaib Football Club Lahore 7. Islamabad 8. Sindh 9. Faisalabad's Punjab Medical Collage 10. Balochistan 11 Azad Jammu & Kashmir (AJK) 12. Northern Areas.