Three-time champion Serena Williams won the Australian Open tennis title when she defeated Russian third seed Dinara Safina in the final here on Saturday. Serena Williams, seeded two here, utterly dominated as she broke Safina three times, conceding only eight points as she took the first set in 22 minutes. Williams is bidding for her 10th Grand Slam title, while Safina is yet to claim a major after losing in last year's French Open decider.