KARACHI - Pakistan’s top pro Mohammed Shabbir with three under par 213 won the Chief of Air Staff open golf which concluded here at the newly laid Airmen Golf link course at PAF Korangi Creek the other day.

A stroke behind the winner finished Matloob Ahmed with gross score of 2178 and Nadeem Inayat with 220 took third place.

Air Chief Marshal Rao Qamar Suleman, Chief of the Air Staff, Pakistan Air Force, was the Chief Guest on the occasion and also awarded trophies and prizes to the winners.

The Championship commenced on January 26.More than 300 leading golfers from all over the country participated in it. The various categories of players, participating in the championship included professionals, amateurs, veterans and senior/junior professional ladies.

Chief of the Air Staff Open Golf Championship was introduced in 1977 and ever since it has been an annual feature in PGF and PAF annual sports calendars.


Professional category: M Shabbir 213, Matloob Ahmed 217, Nadeem Inayat 220.

Junior category:

Master Afnan Shehzad, Master Anas Paracha, Master M Yaldaram, first gross Master Rao Hasan, second Master Syed Hadi Ali, third Master Saud Irfan.

Ladies category: First net Lt Farhat Muneer, second net Mrs Tahira Raza, third net Miss Maha Ahmed. First gross Mrs Tahira Nazir, second Mrs Sumeera Durrani, third Mrs Imran Haider.

Veterans category: First net Brig Pervaiz Akbar, second Gp Capt Aftab A Khan, third Col Shehzada Zaman. First gross Col Shahid Mehmood, second Murtaza Qasim, third gross Col Younus Changezi.

Invitees’ category: First net AVM Riaz Ul Haq, Sqn Ldr Iqbal, AVM Sohail Gul. First gross AVM Atta Ur Rehman, Air Marshal Asim Suleman, Lt Gen Zaheer Ul Islam.

Amateurs’ category: First net Yasir Khokhar (222), second Danish, third net Snr Tech Parvaiz. First gross Waseem Rana (228), second Sajid Khan, third Ali Hai.

Senior professional: First Ghulam Nabi (151), second Asghar Ali and Ghani Khan.

Professional category: Winner M Shabbir (Gross 3 under par), second Matloob Ahmed (gross 217), third Nadeem Inayat (gross 220).

Closest to pin: Lt Gen M Ijaz Choudhry, longest drive: AVM Ashfaq Araeen.