LAHORE  -  The President-elect, Mamoon Hussain, who secured 432 electoral votes in Tuesday’s presidential elections, could not surpass his predecessor Asif Ali Zardari who had bagged 481 votes in 2008 presidential polls.

With the help of allied parties, Asif Ali Zardari had then secured 281 votes out of the 426 valid votes polled in the Senate and the National Assembly in September 2008. He had obtained 22 electoral votes from Punjab, 62 from Sindh, 56 from NWFP (Now KPK) and 59 from Balochistan Assembly.

According to the breakup of votes obtained by the PML-N candidate, Mamnoon Hussain clinched 277 votes from National Assembly and the Senate, 54.14 from Punjab Assembly, 24.76 from Sindh Assembly; 21.49 from KPK Assembly and 55 from Balochistan Assembly.

An important aspect of Tuesday’s presidential elections was that the PML-N allies put in a record 143.76 electoral votes to pave the way for the success of Mamnoon Hussain who bagged a total of 432 votes against 77 of his rival Justice (R) Wajihuddin Ahmad.

Out of these 432 votes, the PML-N had 288.24 electoral votes of its own and the rest had been added by its allies-PMAP, NP, JUI-F, MQM, PML-F and members from FATA and the independents which contributed 38.7, 29.73, 18, 11, 7 and 21 electoral votes respectively.

Had the PPP and its allies not boycotted the presidential elections and all the opposition parties including the MQM, JUI-F and the members from FATA, agreed to field a joint candidate against the PML-N nominee, the results would have been surely different.