QUETTA - Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz candidate Mamnoon Hussain has won the presidential election with an overwhelming majority in Balochistan Assembly securing 55 votes out of a total of 65.

Although Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf does not have any representation in Balochistan Assembly, its candidate retired justice Wajihuddin somewhat managed to bag one vote.

Balochistan Assembly has a total of 65 members, of which three seats are still vacant while two members from Balochistan National Party-Mengal and one from Balochistan National Party-Awami have not been sworn to the House yet.

Balochistan High Court Chief Justice Qazi Faiz Essa performed as the presiding officer.

Reports say parliamentarians from Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid did cast their votes revolting against party’s central leadership. PML-Q leader Sheikh Jaffar Khan Mandokhel said they had already informed the central leadership of their decision. “We voted for PML-N candidate because we are also part of coalition government,” added the PML-Q leader.

Two lawmakers from Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl could not vote since they had gone to Saudi Arabia to perform Umra. On the other hand, Awami National Party, which is having one member in the assembly, boycotted the election.

The one unexpected vote for PTI surprised all lawmakers since PTI did not have any representation in Balochistan Assembly.