PESHAWAR - Abasin Arts Council Wednesday honoured four journalists including Daily Nawa-i-Waqt Bureau Chief M Riaz with Lala Amir Siddiqi Media Award for recognition of their services to the profession.

The award ceremony was held at the Cultural Centre of the Islamic Republic of Iran in Peshawar. Prominent among those who participated in the ceremony were KP Minister for Mineral Resources Anisa Zeb Tahirkheli, Consul General of Islamic Republic of Iran Aqai Hussani, Director General of Khana-e-Farhang-e-Iran Ali Yousefi, former Chairman of the Department of Journalism and Mass Communication, University of Peshawar, Hafiz Sanaullah, former Minister Syed Zahir Ali Shah, sons of Lala Amir Ahmad Siddiqi, Attique Ahmad Siddiqi and Intikhab Amir.

The award has been instituted in the name of late Lala Amir Siddiqi, a widely respected social figure and Peshawar-based journalist who promoted journalism and newspaper reading in the province.

On this occasion, M Riaz, Bureau Chief of daily Nawa-i-Waqt received the best senior reporter award, Habibur Rehman was awarded for being best columnist, Khurram Pervez the best photojournalist, Riffat Anjum for excelling in reporting and Tariq Mateen received the best sub-editor award.

In their respective speeches, the speakers paid tributes to Lala Amir Ahmad Siddiqi, who had served as full-time correspondent of a reputed newspaper of the time “Zamindar” and provided a platform to the local journalists by becoming the founding general secretary of the Peshawar Press Club in 1960s.

The speakers welcomed the issuance of Lala Amir Siddiqi Award, saying it would lead to healthy competition among journalists.

It is worth mentioning here that a six-member committee comprising of senior journalists of the Peshawar Press Club and Khyber Union of Journalists has been constituted for selecting nominees for these awards.