Islamabad - Federal Minister for Information, Broadcasting and National Heritage Senator Pervaiz Rashid has constituted the board of governors (BoG) of Pakistan Academy of Letters (PAL) under the chairmanship of its Chairman Dr Muhammad Qasim Bughio. The BOG has been constituted under provisions of PAL’s act which ensures representation of provinces and major languages of Pakistan, said a ministry press release here on Saturday.

According to the notification of the ministry of information, broadcasting and national heritage, the representatives of provinces, FATA and HEC are: Dr Asghar Nadeem Syed (Punjab), Amar Jalil (Sindh), Dr. Nazir Tabassum (Kyber Pakhtunkhwa), Dr Abdul Razzaq Sabir (Balochistan), Dr Waheed Ahmed (ICT), Prof Aslam Khan Taseer (Federally Administered Tribal Areas) and Dr Mubina Talat (Higher Education Commission) are.  

The representation of major Pakistani languages will be made by Dr Sughra Sadaf (Punjabi), Ghafar Tabassum (Sindhi), Dr. Nasrullah Khan Wazir (Pashto), Munir Ahmed Badeni(Balochi), Hafeez Khan (Saraiki), Arif Zia (Brahvi) and Akbar Hussain Akbar( Khawar/Balti/Shina). These members represent all provinces of the country and various Pakistani languages.

The representatives of provinces, FATA, ICT, Ministry of Information, Broadcasting and National Heritage and Ministry of Finance will act as ex-officio members of the BOG.  PAL Chairman Dr Muhammad Qasim Bhogio will serve as the Chairman and Ms Zahida Parveen, Director General, PAL, as Secretary, BOG. The terms of members of BOG except ex-officio members, will be for three years and shall be eligible for reappointment for such term or terms as the government may determine but shall cease to hold office on attaining the age of sixty-five years or the expiry of the term whichever is earlier.