MANAGUA (AFP) - Thousands of Nicaraguans pelted the US embassy with rocks and home-made explosives, the other day, demanding the ambassador be expelled for criticising a ruling allowing leftist President Daniel Ortega to seek re-election. Ortegas administration issued a statement calling Ambassador Robert Callahans comments an inadmissible interference in Nicaraguas internal affairs, but stopped short of asking for his removal. Callahan got into trouble after slamming an October 19 Supreme Court ruling deeming unenforceable a constitutional amendment banning a president from seeking re-election to a second, consecutive term in office. With all its 16 members supporters of Ortega, the court spared him the effort of putting his desire for re-election in 2011 to a referendum. It immediately drew US criticism as one more of Nicaraguas questionable and irregular governmental actions. Callahan raised more resentment here when he told a group of businessmen Wednesday that the court acted improperly and with unusual speed, in secret, with... justices from just one political movement and with no public debate or discussion. Get out Get out thousands of demonstrators shouted outside the US diplomatic mission, as some used handmade mortar launchers to fire explosives, witnesses said. Despite efforts by riot police to disperse the protesters with tear gas, many were able to smash lights and security cameras and mar the building with scratches and Yankees go home graffiti. We demand (the ambassador) be declared persona non grata and that the blond Yankee be thrown out of here. Get him out of here Get him replaced National Workers Front leader Gustavo Porras, a friend of Ortega, told Nicaraguan media. There were no immediate reports of injuries or arrests. It is not the first time the United States has tangled with Ortega, who returned to power in 2006 after a 16-year hiatus. Ortega led the 1979 Sandinista uprising that ousted the regime of US-backed dictator Anastasio Somoza, after 45 years of oppressive rule. Ortega served as president from 1985-1990.