LAHORE - A first serious move by the PPP-P to actively take part in the future elections was seen on Monday as its President Makhdum Amin Fahim notified constitution of a 14-member committee comprising senior parliamentarians to explore the prospects of its victory in the electoral battles.  

This initiative has been undertaken on the directions of party co-chairman Asif Ali Zardari who wants valuable input from the seasoned parliamentarians on electoral reforms to avert rigging in the coming elections.

Headed by former Senate chairman, Nayyar Bokhari, the committee has been mandated to investigate rigging in 2013 elections and formulate recommendations on avoiding irregularities in the future elections. It would also monitor the upcoming local elections in the four provinces to ensure victory of its candidates. The PPP has already approached the court for party-based local elections.

Former MNA Ch Manzoor would act as its secretary. Other members include Ch Aitzaz Ahsan, Farooq H Naik, Farhatullah Babar, Sardar Latif Khan Khosa, Sherry Rehman, Shazia Mari, Rubina Khalid, Nadeem Afzal Chan, Akhanzada Chatan, Nafeesa Shah, Rahimdad Khan and Ghulam Akbar Lasi.