LAHORE - Capital City Police Officer, Muhammad Pervez Rathore has said that installation of close circuit cameras at banks, money changers, financial institutions, industrial units, shops and all such places where cash transactions are made is the responsibility of the police officials. Strict action would be taken against concerned police officer if crime was committed at a place where close circuit camera was not installed. According to a handout, the CCPO said that SPs would provide certificate within weak that 100 per cent installation work of CCTV cameras have been completed in their respective areas. He said that he will pay surprise visits for reviewing security arrangements in the City and strict action would be taken against the officials guilty of laxity or dereliction of duty. CCPO further stated that it is the legal responsibility of bank managers to their burglar alarm system in working condition and it should be checked from time to time. He said that every bank manager is bound to keep the doors of his bank locked from inside after public dealing hours are over and only authorised persons are allowed entry. He said that under the law two guards are to be posted at main branches and principal offices where cash amount of more than 50 million is available and they would be deployed at a place from where maximum surveillance is possible. He said that violation of Punjab Shops & Establishment Act is punishable with imprisonment of one month along with a fine of Rs 15,000 or both. Capital City Police Officer said that implementation of Shops and Establishment (Security) Ordinance could help reduce crimes of serious nature as well as identification of criminals in case of any incident. He said murderers of a goldsmith had been identified due to close circuit cameras whereas criminals involved in dacoity of Rs 2 million in Multan could not be traced because close circuit cameras had not been installed in the bank as was required under the law. He said that use of modern technology for curbing crimes is the prime need of the hour. CCPO also directed DSPs that they should stress upon financial institutions and business establishments in their respective areas to install recording devices along with close circuit cameras. He said that under the act posting of two security guards is mandatory for the financial institutions doing business involving more than Rs. 50 lakh whereas one security guard is essential for business centres having business involving rupees five lakh to 25 lakh. He said that close circuit TVs and recording devices should be checked regularly and information regarding suspicious persons should immediately be conveyed to police. He said that financial institution should appoint alert and efficient security guard besides ensuring that their weapons are in excellent condition. He also directed cinema-owners to ensure utilization of metal detectors and play slides in cinemas for creating awareness in the masses about the activities of terrorists. He also appealed to trader community as well as heads of financial and industrial institutions to cooperate with the Police besides ensuring implementation of the said act. He further directed Divisional SPs to launch a campaign in their respective areas regarding implementation and benefits of Shops and Establishment (Security) Act. 29 cops promoted Capital City Police Officer, Muhammad Pervez Rathore has promoted 29 Head Constables and temporary Assistant Sub-Inspectors of Lahore Police to the rank of Assistant Sub-Inspector on regular basis with immediate effect. The said officials could not get promotions during last Departmental promotion due incomplete service record. The record of the said officials has been completed and they have also been promoted from the date July 19,2008. The promoted officials are Nazir Ahmad, Masood-ur-Rehman, Akbar Ali, Muhammad Saleem, Abdul Majeed, Muhammad Tufail, Afzal Khan, Mushtaq Ahmad, Muhammad Yousaf, Mumtaz Hussain, Asif Ali, Muhammad Shahid, Amanat Ali, Allah Ditta, Ashiq Hussain, Muhammad Saeed, Muhammad Asif, Muhammad Asghar, Muhammad Nawaz, Sajjad Ahmad, Abdul Razzaq, Akbar Ali, Muhammad Boota, Abdul Shakoor, Riaz Ahmad, Mahfooz Ali, Iftikhar Ahmad, Muhammad Ramzan and Iftikhar Ahmad.