KHAIRPUR - Former Sindh chief minister Qaim Ali Shah was asked to appear before the Returning Officer on Saturday over objections raised by DBA President Manzoor Hussain Ansari. He had filed his nomination paper for PS-29 Khairpur-1.

According to details, DBA president stated in his objection during his tenure as Sindh CM, Qaim Ali Shah appointed his son Liaquat Ali Shah as surgeon in Civil Hospital Khairpur and a dispenser of Health Department Niaz Ali Janwari was posted as TMA administrator who made the corruption of billion rupees.

Besides, he alleged that his servant Mazhar Manganhar alias Machhar, who was serving as junior clerk, was appointed as Mukhtiar Kar Revenue.

Qaim, along with his consul, appeared before the Returning Officers directed him to appear again on Saturday (Today) before him in this regard.

329 CONTESTANTS FILE NOMINATIONS FOR ELECTIONS: Around 329 nomination papers were filed before the returning officers for three National and six provincial assembly seats in the district.

According to sources, 31 nomination forms for NA-215, 35 forms for N.A-216, 35 forms for NA-217, 48 nomination forms for PS-29, 26 nomination forms for PS-30, 29 nomination forms for PS-31, 30 nominations for PS-32, 50 nominations for PS-33 and 44 nomination forms for PS-34 were filed. According to sources, 838,502 voters are registered in the district while 735 polling stations and 1968 booths will be formed for the upcoming general elections.

Meanwhile, Shah Abdul Latif University, Khairpur Registrar Abdul Ghaffar Shah Rashdi has announced names of 12 unopposed members of the University Senate for the period of three years.

These members include Niaz Ahmed Mari, Assistant Professor Department of Statistics, Muhammad Sharif Shaikh, Assistant Professor Department of Geography, Syed Baqir Shah, Lecturer Department of Mathematics, Athar Nabi Brohi, Assistant Professor Department of Chemistry, Khalil Ahmed Ansari, Assistant Professor Department of Botany, Hassan Jawad Soomro, Assistant Professor Department of Commerce, Azizullah Phulpoto, Assistant Professor Department of Economics, Shahida Mangi, Assistant Professor Department of Microbiology, Syed Zulfiqar Ali Shah, Assistant Professor Department of English, Noor Hussain Chandio, Lecturer Department of Geography and Fakhra Soomro Lecturer Department of Zoology.

While four teachers of SALU, Khairpur and Shikarpur Campus are also declared as un-opposed members of the Academic Council on the category of Assistant Professors and Lecturers including Abdul Wahid Shaikh, Assistant Professor Department of Computer Science, Samina Rajpar, Lecturer Department of Computer Science Shikarpur Campus, Tasleem Alam Abro, Lecturer Department of Archaeology and Aneel Kumar, Lecturer Department of Commerce. However in category of Associate Professors, Dr Khalida Mahar, Associate Professor Department of Chemistry and Dr Naveed Ahmed Shaikh, Associate Professor Department of Economics also elected un-opposed members of academic council.