LAHORE- The PML-N is all set to win five national and nine provincial seats in the upcoming by-elections from Punjab, as election to six national and 17 provincial seats in the province is scheduled to be held on June 26. Following seat adjustment between the PPP and the PML-N, the latter would have a comfortable win over PML-Q candidates, especially in a situation when 90 per cent of the seats have been vacated by its own men. After the February 18 general elections, two PML-N leaders- Nisar Ali Khan and Rana Tanvirul Hassan-vacated one seat each, while Javed Hashmi vacated two, one from Rawalpindi and an other from Lahore, retaining a seat from his native town Multan. The PPP, on the other hand, would add one more national seat from Punjab to its existing strength of 124 in the National Assembly, as PPP candidate from NA-147 (Okara-V), Khurram Jehangir Watto is contesting on its ticket on a seat vacated for him by his father Mian Manzoor Watto, who has now joined the PPP. After seat adjustment, no PML-N candidate is contesting from Okara, but 13 independent candidates are in the run to defeat Khurrum Wattoo. Out of these, six belong to the famous Wattoo clan, while three come of Gilani family. A former parliamentarian, Syed Afzaal Shah and former provincial minister Raza Ali Gilani are also in the race from NA-147. Out of the total six national vacant seats in Punjab, four have been vacated by PML-N's own legislators who won from more than one national seat in February 18 general elections. The PML-N is also likely to have an easy win from NA-119, where Hamza Shahbaz Sharif is its candidate. PPP candidate Zekria Butt has withdrawn his nomination papers in his favour, while PML-Q candidate Amjad Mahmood Ch is apparently not in a position to make any upset in a constituency which is considered a PML-N stronghold. Election in NA-119 was terminated following demise of Tariq Banday, then a PML-Q candidate. The son-in-law of Mian Nawaz Sharif, Capt. (R) Muhammad Safdar is contesting from NA-52 (Rawalpindi), a seat vacated by Ch Nisar Ali Khan. No PPP candidate is here to challenge him, while PML-Q candidate, Muhammad Nasir Raja is hardly a threat to him in the presence strong PML-N vote bank here. Haji Pervaiz Khan is PML-N candidate from NA-55, a seat vacated by Makhdoom Javed Hashmi who defeated Sheikh Rashid. Again, PPP has not fielded its candidate here. Mian Nawaz Sharif, if allowed to contest by the court, would have an easy win over five independent candidates contesting from NA-123 (Lahore), a seat vacated by Makhdoom Javed Hashmi. From NA-131 (Sheikhupra), Rana Afzal Hussain is facing Brig. (R) Zulfiqar Ahmad Dhiloon of the PML-Q, who also contested last election, but lost to Rana Tanvirul Hassan of PML-N. Rana Afzal is nephew of Rana Tanvir. In the absence of any PPP candidate, this seat would also fell to the PML-N. Of the 17 vacant provincial seats in Punjab, the PML-N is sure to get seven, which have either been vacated by its own men or are located in areas considered to be PML-N stronghold. Some interesting major contests in the coming by-polls are likely in the provincial constituencies-PP-59, 70, 219, 243 and 295. PPP leader Qasim Zia, Abdul Qadir Gilani, son of Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani, Murid Hussain Qureshi, younger brother of Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi, Sardar Zulfikar Khosa and Rana Sana Ullah of PML-N are contesting from these constituencies. Punjab President PML-N, Sardar Zulfikar Ali Khosa is contesting from PP-243 (D.G Khan), a seat vacated by his son, Sardar Muhammad Saifuddin, who was also elected from a national seat in last general election. He would face Sardar Muhammad Khan Leghari, Salahuddin Khoa, Hakim Moeenuddin Qureshi and Muhammad Hanifullah-all independent candidates. Punjab Law Minister Rana Sana Ullah is in the run from PP-70 (Faisalabad). The election was terminated in this constituency due to sudden death of one of the candidates before February 18 polls. The PML-Q has fielded Dilshad Parah from this constituency. Besides a PPP candidate, Haji Muhammad Ismail Seela, Rana would have to defeat five independent candidates to make to the Punjab Assembly and to continue as law minister. Miss Mehvish Ch of PGP is also contesting from PP-70. Qasim Zia of PPP is contesting from PP-59 (Faisalabd-IX). This seat had been vacated by PPP leader Rana Muhammad Farooq Saeed Khan, who retained his national seat. The PML-N has not fielded its candidate against Qasim. His real contest would be with Ch Arif Mahmood Gill of the PML-Q, while 16 independent candidates are less likely to pose any real threat to his victory. Qasim lost provincial assembly election from Lahore against a PML-N candidate. Abdul Qadir Gilani, son of Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani is in the race from PP-295 (R.Y Khan). Makhdoom Ahmad Mahmood of PML-F has vacated the seat. While no candidate from PML-N and PML-Q is in the run, four independent candidates have dared challenge the son of a sitting prime minister. Abdul Qadir lost national assembly election from Multan against PML-N candidate. Murid Hussain is contesting from PP-219 (Khanewal) in the absence of any PML-N and PML-Q candidate. Eight independent candidates would try to bloc his entry in Punjab Assembly, but he is likely to survive owing to greater PPP vote bank here. From Lahore, the PML-N is likely to grab two more seats. Punjab Minister for Excise & Taxation, Mujatab Shujaur Rehman is contesting from PP-141 and Zaeem Qadri is in the run from PP-154. Election was terminated in the two constituencies due to demise of PML-Q candidate Tariq Banday and PML-N candidate, Ch Asif Ashraf. Rana Shamim of PML-N is contesting from PP-124 (Sialkot). He would face Zulfiqar Ali Ghumman of the PML-Q, while PPP has not fielded its candidate. This seat was vacated by Rana Abdul Sattar, a PML-N MNA. An interesting contest is going to be witnessed in PP-258 (Muzaffar Garh), where 16 independent candidates are in the race. No party has allotted ticket to its candidate in this constituency. The seat was left vacant when Abdul Qayyum Jatoi of the PPP chose to retain his national seat. Khan Muhammad Jatoi, one of his close relatives is being considered hot favourite here. The contest in PP-277 (Bahawalnagar) is wide open. The seat had been vacated by PML-Q MNA Muhammad Akhtar Khadim. The PML-N has fielded Mian Fida Hussain, while Muhammad Tariq Usman is PPP candidate from this constituency. The PML-Q has not awarded ticket to any candidate. Four independent candidates are also contesting from PP-277. The PML-N candidate Sardar Wajid Ali seems to be in strong position vis-s-vis his rival Amjad Joya of PML-Q and six independent candidates in PP-229 (Pakpattan).