ISLAMABAD (Online) - Newly appointed Chairman Pakistan Atomic Energy Commission (PAEC) Dr Ansar Pervez has assumed the charge of his responsibilities in a simple but dignified ceremony held at the headquarters of PAEC on Monday. The previous chairman Dr Anwar Alis contract of three years as chairman PAEC expired had on April 5. He was not given an extension in his tenure thus paving the way for Dr Ansar Pervez. He has also been appointed as Chairman PAEC on a contract of three years. The incoming Chairman paid glowing tributes to the services rendered by Anwar Ali in realising the objectives of the PAEC and expressed his determination to live up to the successes and work values of his predecessors. In his farewell remarks, Anwar Ali advised the PAEC personnel and leadership to uphold time-honoured traditions of the organisation and work selflessly for the strength and well-being of the country. He expressed his full confidence in the capabilities of his successor to steer the organisation to the higher levels of achievements and excellence. Dr Ansar Pervez, who has risen up through the ranks of the organisation, brings to his job rich experience in diverse discipline of Nuclear Science and Technology. His association with the PAEC is spread over nearly four decades. He has to his credit accomplishment of varied assignments in the broad areas of Reactor Physics, Nuclear Safety, Nuclear Power Planning and Economics and Human Resources Development. Dr Pervez did his MSc Physics from Punjab University Lahore securing gold followed by MSc in Nuclear Technology from Quaid-e-Azam University Islamabad. He earned his PhD in 1977 from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute of USA. During the course of his service in PAEC, he has served as the General Manager of Chashma Nuclear Power Unit-2. He was elevated as Member (Science) PAEC in 2006 to supervise the Commissions programme in the domain of Nuclear Medicine, Agriculture, Biotechnology, Research and Development (R&D) and Higher Education. Before his appointment as Chairman, he was Member Nuclear Power Projects, looking after the Nuclear Power Development Programme of the country. Dr Ansar Pervez is the 7th Chairman of Pakistan Atomic Energy Commission since its inception. Dr Nazir Ahmad, Dr IH Usmani, Munir Ahmad Khan, Dr Ishfaq Ahmad, Pervez Butt and Anwar Ali have served the Commission as Chairmen before him.