ISLAMABAD - In what appears to be a start of defections within the PTI a lawmaker of this party Thursday wrote to Speaker National Assembly Sardar Ayaz Sadiq not to accept his resignation.

PTI MNA Siraj Muhammad Khan, elected from NA-6 (Noshera II), in a letter written to the Speaker NA said that he did not give his resignation voluntarily and thus his resignation should not be accepted. He said that his resignation letter should be cancelled.

The Speaker office has accepted the request of the MNA, an official of the Speaker office said.

Three PTI MNAs while defecting from the party decision had already announced not to resign and Siraaj was the fourth among the party defectors. The other three are Gulzar Khan, Mussarat Zeb and Nasir Khattak.

When all PTI MNAs had gone to the Speaker office for verification of their resignations en masse on October 29, Siraj had not joined his colleagues at that time.

A PTI office bearer of its Central Secretariat said that this had proved their apprehension of horse trading and alleged that the government was bribing party MNAs to withdraw their resignations. He said that party would take action against the lawmaker.