MANDI BAHAUDDIN - The ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has emerged as winner in National Assembly constituency NA-108 (Mandi Bahauddin) with a convincing margin.

According to unofficial results, PML-N candidate Mumtaz Tarar bagged 77,884 votes against PTI's Tariq Tarar who managed to secure 40,570 votes. PPP candidate Asif Bashir stood third with 29, 618 votes.

The seat was vacated by PTI's Ejaz Ahmed Ch who was disqualified for fake degree. PML-N workers celebrated the victory by making fireworks. Workers danced on the beat of drums and also displayed weapons. According to details, turnout in the by-poll remained 53 per cent. Pakistan Muslim League - Quaid (PML-Q) candidate Hamza Nasir Iqbal got 10,796 whereas JI candidate Riaz Farooq bagged 7,662 votes.

It is pertinent to mention here that the seat had been vacated when Ijaz Chaudhry, who had won the seat in General Election 2013 on PML-N ticket, crossed the floor to join PTI and got disqualified.

Earlier, the polling for by-election in NA-108 Mandi Bahauddin-1 was completed amid complaints of violation of electoral code of conduct and some clashes here on Monday. As per details, the polling for by-election started at 9:00am and continued till 5:00pm in the evening. Though the turnout was thin, the polling continued smoothly with some incidents of brawl and scuffles.

Clashes erupted between the supporters of PML-N and PTI as their activists violently smacked each other at polling stations 36 and 138, leaving three people with injuries. Polling was temporarily suspended at polling station No 138 following the confrontation. A contingent of police was deployed at the polling station to control the situation but it remained unable to restore order due to a large number of charged activists present at the scene. Rangers were also deployed at polling station No. 80 where polling was suspended after shots were fired during a clash between the PTI and PML-N activists. Three people were injured during the crossfire who were shifted to a nearby hospital.

On the occasion, a PML-N candidate alleged that the PTI workers were attempting to delay polling. In the constituency, 112 polling stations had been declared as "sensitive," while 62 were categorised as "most sensitive." Provincial Election Commissioner Iqbal Zafar Hussain had sought the help from police and Rangers to control the situation.

Provincial Law Minister Rana Sanaullah took the notice of the firing and brawl between the parties. Polling restarted following the deployment of Rangers.

Election Commission (ECP) had set up 289 polling stations in the constituency both for women and men.

The Pakistan People's Party (PPP), Jamaat-e-Islami (JI), Pakistan Muslim League-Qauid (PML-Q) and Awami Tehreek fielded their candidates in the by-election. However, the real contest was between the candidates of the PML-N and PTI. As many as 431,000 voters exercised their right to vote during the polling. A local holiday was declared in Mandi Bahauddin district in connection with the by-election and the administration had also imposed Section-144 to avoid any mishap.