With an addition of 16 new union councils (UCs), the total number of UCs located within the municipal limits of Multan district is likely to stand at 200 as District Coordination Officer (DCO) Syed Gulzar Hussain Shah declared the municipal boundaries here on Thursday.

Earlier, the union councils 1 to 45 were shown in the limits of municipal corporation Multan while now this number has risen to 61 union councils with an addition of 16 new ones. Sources said that the union councils between 46 and 58 as well as UC-127 Qasim Bela, UC-128 Garden Town and UC-129 Jhakkarpur have been added to the municipal UCs of Multan.

Although the delimitation of local bodies’ constituencies has been done, the process has not been finalized as yet. The district administration sought objections from the stake-holders on the process and a number of objections were received on Thursday. The decisions on the objections are, however, pending.

On the other hand, sitting members of the national and provincial assemblies as well as ticket-holders gathered at the offices DCO and ACs concerned to get the local bodies’ constituencies, lying in their areas, reshaped according to their will. Sources claimed that many constituencies were delimited more than one time as a result of which their boundaries could not be finalized.