LAHORE The Pakistan Football Federation (PFF) gave go-ahead to 16 teams instead of 14 for the Pakistan Premier Football League (PPFL) immediately after Eid. Based on the performance, all the 14 participants of PPFL 2009 and top two teams of PFF League 2009 entered the showpiece event of PFF. The draws of the PFFs blue riband event will be issued to participating teams and technical officials in last week of Ramazan. The winner of PPFL 2010 will earn the rights to play in 7th AFC Presidents Cup 2011. Launched at Karachis YMCA ground on May 28, 1948, as National Championship ; since 2004 onwards it is known as the Pakistan Premier League when two-tier system was adopted in domestic soccer which is one of the laudable works under PFF chief Faisal Saleh Hayat. The National Football Championship (tier I) is named as Pakistan Premier Football League (PPFL) while National Championship (Tier-II) is known as PFF League, said PFF Secretary General Lt. Col (R) Ahmed Yar Khan Lodhi. Khan Research Laboratories (KRL), who appeared in the 6th AFC Presidents Cup at Myanmar, will defend the title in 16-team PPFL 2010, to be held at Karachi, Lahore, Chaman, Nushki, Rawalpindi, Islamabad, Sahiwal and Faisalabad. The other teams in marathon 240-match league will be Karachi Port Trust (KPT), Army, WAPDA, National Bank of Pakistan (NBP), PIA, Navy, KESC, HBL, Chamans Afghan Club, PMC Athletico Club Faisalabad, Lahores PEL, Nushkis Baloch FC, PAF, SSGC and Sahiwals Young Blood FC. PMC Athletico Club Faisalabad (26 matches, 21 pts) and Nushkis Baloch FC (26 matches, 8 pts) were relegated on December 13, 2009 by finishing 13th and 14th respectively in the previous edition but they receive the recall when August 7 PFF congress, held under the Chairmanship of Makhdoom Syed Faisal Saleh Hayat, approved the increment of two more teams in top soccer event of Pakistan. The previous edition, having 14 teams, was comprised of 182 matches, with every team had to play 26 matches. Now each team will play 30 matches in lengthy 240-match show that will come to conclusion in mid-December 2010. National Soccer Title holder 1948-2009 9 Times: PIA 8 Times: Punjab 7 Times: WAPDA 6 Times: Karachi 4 Times: Army 3 Times: ABL, Balochistan 2 Times: Dhaka, Sindh, Railways, Faisalabads Crescent Textile Mills. 1 Time: Peshawar, East Pakistan, Chittagong, Habib Bank Limited, Quetta, PAF, Khan Research Laboratories