KARACHI - The Sindh government on Monday issued a notification to restore the original status of Karachi and Hyderabad districts. However, the commissioners in five divisions and deputy commissioners in districts were also posted by the government as the posts of the DCOs will be replaced by the DCs in the districts. According to a late night notification issued by the Chief Ministers House, five divisions - Karachi, Hyderabad, Sukkur, Mirpurkhas and Larkana and its districts - have been revived. The Revenue Department through a notification has revived the original status of Karachi division which would comprise five districts - South, East, West, Central and Malir with old jurisdictions. Similarly, restoring the Hyderabad district to its original status of April 3, 2005, the Sindh government stated the Hyderabad division would consist of districts including Hyderabad, Dadu, Thatta, Badin and Jamshoro. The notification of three new districts Tando Allahyar, Tando Mohammed Khan and Matiari which were created out of the Hyderabad district during the previous PML-Q and MQM coalition government led by Arbab Rahim government, has been withdrawn by the present government. The Sukkur division will comprise of five districts - Sukkur, Ghotki, Khairpur, Naushehroferoz and Benazirabad (formerly Nawabshah) while the Larkana division will consist of Larkana, Kamber-Shahdadkot, Shikarpur, Jacobabad and Kashmore-Kandhkot. A handout issued by the Chief Ministers House said that existing DCOs of Karachi, Hyderabad, Larkana, Mirpurkhas and Sukkur will continue to work as acting commissioners of the revived divisions. The government also appointed five deputy commissioners to the restored districts of Karachi. According to a notification issued by Services and General Administration Department, former Karachi EDO Revenue Ghanwar Khan Leghari was posted as deputy commissioner West, Shaukat Jokhio as DC East, Jamal Mustafa Qazi as DC South, Jan Mohammed Qazi as DC Malir and Matanat Ali has been posted as DC of Central district. According to another notification, the existing EDOs (Revenue) of Hyderabad, Larkana, Sukkur and Mirpurkhas will act as deputy commissioners/collectors for the respective districts with immediate effect. Meanwhile, a handout issued by the CM House said all existing officers/employees working in the districts/tehsils and union governments of the provincial government would continue on their newly-assigned posts after repealing of the SLGO. Meanwhile, it has been learnt that the provincial government has decided to cease the development funds of the districts, tehsils and the union council governments till further order as the government had planned to initiate audit and inquiry into these funds. The PPP govt has already decided to initiate audit of funds of five years tenure of the city district government led by Nazim Mustafa Kamal.