ISLAMABAD -  Central Selection Board Chairman Naveed Akram Cheema on Friday expressed his anger at board members and officials of the Establishment Division for leaking board recommendations to the media, The Nation has learnt.

The last huddle of the four-day board meeting was held under the chair of Cheema. In the four-day sitting, the board reviewed promotion cases of more than 800 officers of grade-19 and grade-20 of different services groups. The CSB meeting recommended promotions of over 600 officers.

Sources said that the list of the recommended promotions of several officers of the Police Service of Pakistan and the Pakistan Administrative Service Group were leaked to the media and some of the officers.

The CSB chairman expressed disappointment over the approach of the board members and the non-professional manner of Secretary to Board Afzal Latif, who failed to stop the leakage of the board decisions to the media.

The sources said that the CSB chairman directed Latif to put a ban on the entry of irrelevant staff of to Establishment Division to the meeting room. He, according to the sources, directed Latif and other members not to share any information about the decisions with any junior officer.   

On December 29, 2017, the Establishment Division issued a notification stating that Amir Haider Hoti Khan, Member of National Assembly, Senator Saud Majeed, Dr Muhammad Saqib Aziz, Secretary Postal Services Division, Amjad Ali Khan Secretary (retd), Mehr Khaliq Dad Lak, Joint Director General, Intelligence Bureau Islamabad, Aamir Ashraf Khawaja, Naveed Kamran Baloch Secretary National Health Services, Regulations and Coordination, Muhammad Hashim Popalzai, Secretary Ministry of Overseas Pakistan and Human Resource Development, Co-opted members for PSP items including IGP Punjab, Sheikh Nasim uz Zaman, Commandant National Police Academy and Shaukat Hayat, IGP Motorway and National Highway will be members of the CSB meeting.

On Friday, the CSB recommended promotions of ex-cadre officers to grade-20 and 21 including nine doctors Dr. Mazahar Saha, Dr. Imran Sikandar, Dr. Arshad Janjua, Dr. Shaban Zafar, Dr. Waqar Shiekh, Dr. Zahid Laraik, Dr. Shahla Zamir. The board recommended the promotions of eight officers of Pakistan Custom Group including Dr. Sarfaraz, Zia Uddin Wazir,  Zulifqar Ahmed, Saud Imran, Syed Muhammad Tariq, Wasif Ali Memon, Zaib Azhar, Syed Wajid Ali, Aslam Murree and Maqsood Jahangiri.