The PML-N made a clean sweep of all the seven National Assembly seats in the district while two Punjab Assembly seats out of seven bagged were won by the independent candidates in PP- 165 and PP-168 in the general elections, as per unofficial results.

In NA-131, Rana Afzal Hussain of PML-N won the seat, defeating PML-Q candidate Aamina Zulfiqar Dhiloon, PTI’s Brig (r) Rahat Amanullah, Usman Nisar Pannu of PPP and other candidates. In NA-132, Rana Tanveer Husain of PML-N defeated PTI’s Ayaz Sarfraz, Ghayoor Bukhari of PPP, independent candidate Rana Anwarul Haq and other candidates. In NA-133, Mian Javed Latif got success with overwhelming majority after defeated PTI Abubakar Mushtaq Virk of Kala Virkan, Altaf Hussain Virk of PPP, Jamaat-e-Islami’s Khalid Mehmood Virk and two independent candidates Saeed Virk and Haji Nawaz.

In NA-134, Sardar Irfan Dogar of PML-N bagged the seat after defeating PTI candidate Ch Shafqat Ali Kujjar, PML-Q’s Khurram Munawar Manj and former PPP Punjab president and former senior minister. In NA-135, Ch Barjees Tahir, PML-N ticket-holder, won the seat and defeated PTI Arshad Sahi, former tehsil Shahkot nazim, Mian Shamim Haider, former PPP’s federal minister, and independent candidate Rai Ijaz Ahmad. But he was deprived of the ticket in 2013 election by the PPP.

Likewise, PML-N former MNA Bilal Virk again won the NA-136 seat after a tough contest with PML-Q and PPP joint candidate Shahid Manzoor Gill, PTI’s Ch Yaqoob, former IG of Balochistan police, and Abid Hussain Chattha. NA-137 seat was won by PML-N candidate Rai Mansab Ali Kharal who defeated PTI Rai Ikranullah Bhatti, Rai Shahjahan Bhatti (PPP) and other independent candidate Mahar Saeed Zafar Padhyar.

Across Attock district, the PML-N has bagged two national and three provincial assembly seats while the results of NA-59 and PP-17 were still awaited. Unexpectedly, the turnout remained above 60 percent. Across the district, the polling process was completed in a peaceful manner.

Some 84 candidates were in the race for three national and five provincial assembly seats. As per the unofficial results released by Returning Officers from NA-57, Sheikh Aftab Ahmed (PML-N) bagged 59,638 votes and was declared successful. Malik Amin Aslam, former state minister, could bag 55,516 votes and was declared runner-up.

From NA-58, Malik Aetbar Khan (PML-N) secured 84,722 votes and defeated Malik Sohail Khan of PTI who bagged 73,935 votes while the result of NA-59 was being awaited. From PP-15, Syed Ejaz Hussain Bukhari bagged 27,985 votes and defeated PML-N’s Salman Sarwar who bagged 23,911 votes. From PP-16, PML-N Candidate Col (r) Shuja Khanzada secured 38,697 votes and was declared successful while Raza Khan, an independent candidate, remained runner-up. He bagged 25,788 votes.  From PP-18, PML-N candidate Sher Ali Khan was declared successful. He bagged 58,944 votes while Malik Muhammad Anwar of PTI was declared runner-up who secured 45,926 votes. In PP-19, PML-N candidate Zafar Iqbal was declared successful. He bagged 37,487 votes. However, Manzar Ameer Khan, an independent candidate, got 27,062 votes and remained runner-up.