LAHORE     -     A regular performer at the NCA Remote Areas Camp for the last two years, leg-spinner Mohammad Asad has found his way to Pakistan team that will compete in the ACC Emerging Teams Asia Cup to be played in Bangladesh from 12 November.  The 19-year-old Asad hails from Swabi in the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province. Asad wants to emulate Pakistan Test leg-spinner Yasir Shah (also born and raised in Swabi), who is regarded as one of the top leg-spinners in the world with an impressive Test record of 203 wickets in only 35 matches. Asad is aiming to produce a stellar performance in the ACC Emerging Teams Asia Cup and help Pakistan win the title.  Asad also represented Abbottabad in the U19 Regional Tournament, while his skill was noticed by the selectors at the NCA Remote Areas trials. He is known as the ‘googly boy’ in his neighbourhood, the title was given to him for his ability of bamboozling batsmen with the googly, widely considered the most lethal weapon of a leg-spinner.  He honed his skills practicing at the Yasir Shah Academy in Swabi. Yasir is Asad’s favourite bowler and he aspires to emulate the leg-spinner and win laurels for the country at the highest level. “I was passionate about cricket from an early age. I used to go to the ground with my cousin and used to bowl six hours daily. While learning leg-spin, I took guidance from Shane Warne’s bowling videos. Initially, my family objected to my interest in cricket but when they saw my hard work and improvement in my game they started backing me,” said M Asad on Tuesday.  “My mother had tears of joy in her eyes when she heard about my selection in the ACC Emerging Teams Asia Cup squad, I really want to do well and win the tournament for Pakistan,” he added.

Asad’s aim is to represent Pakistan in all three formats, for now though, his focus is on the ACC Emerging Teams Asia Cup where he is set to be a vital cog in Pakistan’s bowling attack that also includes young spinners Mohammad Hassan and Umer Khan.

PAKISTAN SQUAD: Saud Shakeel (capt), Rohail Nazir (vc, wk), Akif Javed, Amad Butt, Haider Ali, Hasan Mohsin, Imran Rafiq, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Asad, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Mohsin, Omair Bin Yousuf, Saif Badar, Sameen Gul and Umar Khan.