LAHORE - Centurion Sami Aslam steered Pakistan A to thumping nine-wicket victory over visiting Kenyan team in the first match of the five-match one-day series here at the Gaddafi Stadium on Saturday.

The deserted Gaddafi Stadium, which hosted the last international match in March 2009 against Sri Lanka and remained deserted, was pack to capacity once again with the international match between Kenya and Pakistan A. With hosting of this series, Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) is hoping international back to the country.

Pakistan A chased down an easy total of 168 runs in just 27.5 overs with Sami Aslam leading the run-chase with a brilliant unbeaten century (101 off 97 balls, 11 fours, 2 sixes) with Fazal Subhan’s unbeaten 56 to lead the side to victory. Elijah Otieno took the only wicket for Kenya.

Earlier, Pakistan won the toss and elected to bowl first. Gurdeep Singh played the outstanding knock of 55 runs along with Nelson Odhiambo to play a supportive hand of 44 runs to guide the Kenyan total to 167 before getting all out in 38.3 overs. Raza Hassan and M Talha clinched four wickets each for the green-shirts.

M Talha was declared man of the match for his outstanding bowling (4-32) while Sami Aslam was named best batsman of the match and Raza Hassan best bowler.

Man of the match M Talha said: “Weather was fine which made the momentum and we played well which helped our team to perform well. We will continue to perform well in next matches as well.”

Kenyan captain Shem Ngoche said: “Though we tried well to perform yet Pakistan A team played brilliantly therefore they inflicted a big victory on us. We will try our best in next matches and try to give tough time to the hosts.”



A Obanda c Rizwan b Talha    2

K Owino c Sharjeel b Talha    11

Gurdeep Singh c Sami b Talha    55

M Ouma st Rizwan b Raza    12

N Odhiambo c Shahzaib b Talha    44

J Kamande b Shahzaib    3

S Ngoche b Shahzaib    5

N Odhiambo c Fazal b Raza    14

E Otieno c Fawad b Raza    7

J Bhimji b Raza    0

J Ngoche not out    0

EXTRAS: (lb4, w9, nb1)    14

TOTAL: (all out; 38.3 overs)    167

FOW: 1-2, 2-25, 3-46, 4-122, 5-126, 6-136, 7-157, 8-167, 9-167, 10-167

BOWLING: M Talha 8.3-1-32-4, Imran Khan 7-1-31-0, Raza Hasan 6-1-20-4, Shahzaib Ahmed 9-0-42-2, Fawad Alam 8-0-38-0


Sami Aslam not out    101

Sharjeel Khan b Otieno    8

Fazal Subhan not out    56

EXTRAS: (lb4, nb1)    5

TOTAL: (1 wkt; 28.3 overs)    170

FOW: 1-8

BOWLING: N Odhiambo 4-1-21-0, E Otieno 4-0-14-1, J Ngoche 3.3-0-28-0, N Odhiambo 2-0-20-0, S Ngoche 5-0-32-0, J Bhimji 8-0-33-0, J Kamande 2-0-18-0

RESULT: Pakistan A won by 9 wickets

TOSS: Pakistan A


UMPIRES: Ahmed Shahab, Rashid Riaz

TV UMPIRE: Javed Ashraf