ISLAMABAD/KARACHI Chief Justice Iftikhar Muham-mad Chaudhry swore in three new judges of the Supreme Court here in a simple but dignified ceremony on Thursday. Justice Saqib Nisar and Justice Asif Saeed Khosa were sworn in as permanent judges of the apex court while Justice Khalil-ur-Rehman Ramday took oath as an ad hoc judge. With the induction of these three, the strength of judges reached 19 with 17 permanent and two ad hoc judges. Judges of the Supreme Court, Attorney General of Pakistan, Federal Law Secretary, Secretary Election Commission of Pakistan, Director General Federal Judicial Academy, Representatives of the Bar, prominent lawyers, officers of Law & Justice Commission of Pakistan, law officers of the court and media persons attended the ceremony. Registrar Supreme Court Dr Faqir Hussain conducted the proceedings of oath-taking ceremony. Officers and staff of the Supreme Court were also present on the occasion. Meanwhile, nine currently appointed additional judges of the Sindh High Court took oath of their offices here on Thursday. After issuance of the notification, the judges took oath at a simple but dignified ceremony held at SHC. SHC Chief Justice Sarmad Jalal Usmani administrated the oath to new judges. The judges, who took oath are Justice Nisar Muhammad Sheikh, Justice Syed Zakir Hussain, Justice Syed Hasan Azhar Rizvi, Justice Salman Hamid, Justice Zahid Hamid, Justice Muhammad Tasnim, Justice Muhammad Ali Mazhar, Justice Imam Buksh Baloch and Justice Abdul Hadi Khoso. With their induction, the number of judges in SHC reached 17 whereas, sanctioned strength is 40. The ceremony was attended by the SHC judges, senior lawyers and others. The SHC Registrar received the notification on Thursday following the signing of the summery by President Asif Ali Zardari regarding appointment of judges.