Majid Nizami Sports Gala cricket today

LAHORE – The cricket competitions will be conducted in the 2nd Majid Nizami Sports Gala 2017 here at the Cricket Centre ground today (Tuesday). In all, eight teams will vie against each other for the top honour. Anees-ur-Rehman will be leading The Nation team while Dilawar Chaudhry will captain Nawa-i-Waqt team, Hasham Yousuf Waqt TV team, Abbas Akhtar Nida-i-Millay XI, Ammar Younus Weekend XI, The Nation veterans Salim Bokhari, Nawa-i-Waqt veterans Bilal Butt and Nawa-i-Waqt Group veterans Mahfooz Anjum. The sponsors of cricket event are Claro Water, Coca Cola, Air Link, Revolution Media and Ceramco. The snooker and badminton events have already been organised in a befitting manner, and after cricket, the football event will be conducted here at MTFA ground on November 25.–Staff Reporter



Lucky Star Club thrash Imran Memorial

ISLAMABAD – Lucky Star Cricket Club thrashed Imran Memorial by 177 runs in the NBP-ICA One-Day Cricket Tournament inaugural match played here at Bhutto Cricket Ground on Monday. Thanks to 115-run opening stand provided by Nazar Ranjha (61) and Naseerullah (50), Lucky Star hammered huge 307-5 in allotted 40 overs. Tauseef Sarwar was player of the match with 85 runs and then he also captured 2-27. Rizwan also scored 53. Hurira took 2-15. In reply, Imran Memorial were bundled out for 130 in 35.3 overs. Faizan hit 19, Hafeez 18 and Sajid 16 runs. Besides Tauseef, Haris and Naseerullah also took 2 wickets each conceding 28 and 39 runs respectively. Lucky Star organiser Wasif Bajwa congratulated his team for outstanding performance and hoped they would continue to perform in the upcoming matches.–Staff Reporter



PDCA elects remaining office-bearers

ISLAMABAD - The constitution of Peshawar District Cricket Association (PDCA) completed with the election of vice president, joint secretary and the members of the executive committee besides the patron-in-chief. According to Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) constitution, after the election of the president, secretary and treasurer of any association, all the other offices are filled through election process from amongst the registered clubs. The election was held at Gymkhana Cricket Ground on Monday where tough contest was witnessed between Asif Nadeem and M Sabir for vice president slot, which the former won with 23 votes. M Asif Qureshi was elected unopposed joint secretary while Syed Fareedullah Shah and Rana Hasher Fawad elected executive committee members and Amjad Aziz Malik as patron-in-chief.–Staff Reporter



Winter Polo Cup gets underway today

LAHORE - The Winter Polo Cup 2017 will get underway today (Tuesday) here at the Lahore Polo Club (LPC) ground. LPC president Irfan Ali Hyder said: “Seven teams to feature in this event which are divided into two pools. The pool A consists of Porsche, Diamond Paints, Artema Medical/Black Horse Paints and Newage while pool B has Honda Chenab, Bilal Steel and Dawood Group. The opening match will be contested between Porsche and Diamond Paints at 1pm while Artema Medical/Black Horse Paints will vie against Newage in the second encounter at 2pm and Honda Chenab will play against Bilal Steel in pool B at 3pm. The main and subsidiary finals will be held on Sunday. “The ‘Polo in Pink’ tournament proved to be a very interesting one while I expect this event as very interesting and challenging too.”–Staff Reporter




LAHORE: Govt Lady Maclagan School Lahore team in a photo with trophies after winning gold medal in Punjab Olympics.