Thirty six politicians have submitted their nomination papers to contest by-poll in NA-149 on Tuesday.

Deposed president of Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf Makhdoom Javed Hashmi deposited his nomination papers as independent candidate. The NA-149 seat had got vacated because of resignation of Makhdoom Javed Hashmi and the re-poll in this constituency is scheduled for October 16. The PML-N and PPPP are learnt to have decided not to field their candidates against Hashmi, who is again in the run as an independent candidate. On the other hand, the PTI has already declared that it will not participate in the by-polls in NA-149.

Former PPPP candidate from NA-149 Malik Aamir Dogar was aspirant of party ticket in the by-election while PML-N candidate in last election Sheikh Tariq Rasheed also sought ticket from his party. Both of them have deposited their nomination papers as independent candidates. Meanwhile, former MPAs Dr Javed Siddiqui and Amir Dogar, former MNA from the same constituency Liaqat Dogar, ex MPA from PP-194 Usman Bhatti, former nazim and chief of Mutahidda Shehri Mahaaz Tariq Naemullah, ex-MPA from PP-194 Shahid Mahmood Khan, ex-naib tehsil nazim Tariq Gujjar, Prof Latif Ansar Lajpal, district organiser of PTI Multan Ijaz Janjua, former MNA Sheikh Tahir Rasheed, leader of PML-N Rao Aneesur Rehman, Begum Sarwat Khan, secretary general of PML-N Multan Sheikh Athar Mumtaz, Rana Saleem, Dr Khalid Khakwani, Malik Shabbir Khokhar and chief of Saraikistan Democratic Party Rana Faraz Noon also deposited their nomination papers.

According to the schedule announced by the Election Commission, the scrutiny of the nomination papers will be held on September 24 and 25 while the candidates will file their appeals against objections on their nomination papers on September 26 and 27. The decisions on the appeals will be announced on September 29.

 The final list of the candidates will be displayed on October 1 while the polling will take place on October 16.