PML-N Central leader and MNA Mian Hamza Shahbaz Sharif has declared that the government believes in progress and development and has been striving hard to maintain peace which is inevitable for stability of the country.

While kicking off electioneering for by-election to PP-107 here the other night, Hamza Shahbaz said that Hafizabad district always remained fortress of the PML-N and expressed his hope that the PML-N nominee Sarfraz Hussain Bhatti would return victorious in the by-election on May 29.

He said that the government was trying several options to eliminate terrorism and assured that the government would not betray the sacrifices of Armed Forces for defending the sacred homeland. He said that a handful of terrorist elements were hell-bent on destabilising the country but Pakistani Armed Forces and the government would wipe them out to steer the country out of the prevalent situation.

He invited the opponents of the government, who were “singing the song of rigging” to come forward and join hands with the government for resolving problems being confronted by the nation.

He said that during the last one year, the PML-N had taken various steps to tackle the problems confronted the country. He said that not a single penny was misappropriated during last one year and several steps including 660 MW project in Sahiwal, Nandipur Project and other small projects had been started to generate electricity to eliminate loadshedding to some extent.

Moreover, foreign investment to the tune of billions of dollars has been pouring in the country which will usher in new era and progress and prosperity. Besides, China has agreed to invest 32 billion dollar while project of Metro Train would be started with $1.6 billion,” he pointed out, adding that work on Motorway from Multan to Karachi would be started soon. He said due to wise policies of the government dollar rate had decreased by more than 12 percent which would go a long way in the economic stability of the country.

He called upon the electorates to cast their votes in favour of PML-N nominee in view of the good governance of the present government. Prominent among those who also addressed the gathering included former Parliamentary Secretary Ch Afzal Hussain Tarar, MNA Mian Shahid Hussain Bhatti, MPAs - Malik Fayyaz Ahmad Awan and Ch Asadullah Arain.