KARACHI - The present CEO of USF Pervez Iftikhar is going to complete his tenure on the 30th of this month. The Nation has learnt that despite the fact that board members have the authority to select its CEO, yet the Ministry is reportedly intending to interfere in the selection process. The ministry is planning to advertise and call the interviews for the post, sources maintained. The law says that the ministry should call a board meeting and select the CEO of the institute. The board of USF is comprised of 8 members both from public and private sectors, while the 4 members of private sector include CEO Telenor John Eddie, CEO PTCL Walid Ershad, Azfar Manzoor of IsPak, and President Consumer Association Kokab Iqbal. While the other members are Minister IT, Secretary IT, Chairman Pakistan Telecommunication Authority PTA, and member telecom board, besides, the 9th member of board is the CEO of the USF. It is pertinent to mention that USF is government institute that was built to offer Telecom services in rural and less developed areas. So far USF has subsidized in following regions: Khuzdar, Kalat, Mastung, Larkana, Nasirabad, Killa Saifullah-Loralai, Kalat-Mastung, Mirpur Khas, Dera Ismail Khan, Sibi, Pishin, Dadu, Mansehra, Bahawalpur, Sukkur, Dera Ghazi Khan, Chagai, and Malakand. Similarly in those areas where ISPs do not go due to less number of potential subscribers, or said area is not financially viable, USF subside services in those regions. Currently projects have started for following regions: Gujranwala Telecom Region, Central Telecom Region, Southern Telecom Region-V, Multan Telecom Region, Southern Telecom Region-I, Hazara Telecom Region, and Faisalabad Telecom Region.