LAHORE-  Four matches were decided on Tuesday in the second qualifying round of the SNGPL Pakistan International Squash Circuit-II men’s and women’s 2018 and the winners qualified for the main round to begin today (Wednesday) here at the PSA international complex.

In the seniors’ men category, Zahir Shah (Pak) had to struggle hard to beat Noman Khan (Pak) 11/6, 11/3, 6/11, 1/11, 11/4 in the first match of the day in 31 minutes. The second match of the day saw Danish Atlas Khan (Pak) outclassing M Farhan (Pak) 11/3, 11/3, 11/0 in just 19 minutes.

Waqar Mehboob (Pak) faced tough resistance from Uzair Shaukat (Pak), who went down fighting 13/15, 11/4, 9/11, 11/6, 11/2 in the third encounter of 33 minutes while Bilal Zakir (Pak) edged past Haris Qasim (Pak) 8/11, 11/4, 11/6, 11/8 in the last match of the day in 28 minutes.

The main round of the international event will commence today (Wednesday). At court number one, the first match of the main round will be contested between Amna Fayyaz and Saima Shaukat at 12pm while Noor-ul-Ain will take on Madina Zafar in the second encounter at 12:45pm, Amna Shahbaz will face Noor-ul-Huda at 1:30pm and Riffat Khan will vie against Amna Mustafa at 2:15pm.

At court number two, Noorina Shams will play against Komal Khan at 12pm, Zohaib Kamal Khan will take on Sabga Arshad at 12:45pm, Faiza Zafar will face Muqaddasa Ashraf at 1:30pm and Muqaddasa Javed will vie against Zoya Khalid at 2:15pm.

The boys’ competition will be conducted at court number three where first match will be contested between Kashif Asif and Israr Ahmad at 12pm, second between Waqar Mehboob and Asim Khan at 12:45pm, third between Syed Ali Mujtaba Shah and Ahmed Fareed at 1:30pm and the last one between Danish Atlas Khan and Ahsan Ayaz at 2:15pm.

At the centre court, Farhan Zaman will take on Zahir Shah at 12:00pm, Farhan Mehboob will play against Bilal Zakir at 12:45pm, Tayyab Aslam and Khawaja Adil Maqbool at 1:30pm and Adnan Amjad will vie against Umair Zaman at 2:15pm in the last match of the day.