ISLAMABAD  - Maiden meeting of the Parliamentary Commission set up by the Speaker National Assembly for formation of new provinces in Punjab would meet on Tuesday (today).

According to the sources, in the meeting code of conduct would be finalised besides electing a Chairperson of the Commission.

Prior to the meeting, PML-N had refused to be a part of the Parliamentary Commission for the new provinces on the ground that the members of the Commission have been announced without consultation with the PML-N.

PML-N holds the stance that the Commission for new provinces comprises such members, which have no representation in Punjab.

Speaker National Assembly, Dr Fehmida Mirza constituted the 14-member Parliamentary Commission for new provinces, which includes six members from Senate and National Assembly each, and two members from the Punjab Assembly.