ISLAMABAD  -  National Assembly Speaker Ayaz Sadiq has said that the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) is biased against the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz.

The PML-N leader said that Chief Election Commissioner Sardar Raza Khan did not even respond to his call and left his office without meeting the party representatives. “I am still the National Assembly Speaker,” he said in a press conference outside ECP office on Saturday along with former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi and Marriyum Aurangzeb.

Both Ayaz Sadiq and Shahid Khaqan Abbasi also turned their guns towards disgruntled PML-N leader Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan.

Ayaz Sadiq, considered to be close friend of Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan, said he has no more contact with him. He said Nisar was granted more development funds than any other PML-N leader.

Shahid Khaqan Abbasi said after the worst defeat in general elections, Ch Nisar will have come to know about his position with the support of the PML-N.

He further stated that the votes bagged by Nisar in the election were only due to his contact with party President Shehbaz Sharif, otherwise he would have to face the worst situation.


Spokesperson of the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) Altaf Khan has said that the Commission won’t be influenced or pressurised by the tactics being adopted by the PML-N.

In a media talk here on Saturday, he said that Speaker Ayaz Sadiq came to visit the office as a representative of his party. He said the ECP chief went back home early due to the absence of other members.

“We have received all requests and complaints on voting,” he said.


The appeals submitted by various candidates seeking vote recounting in their respective constituencies have been rejected on Saturday.

The request of PML-N’s Saqlain Bukhari for vote recount was rejected by returning officer in NA-188 Layyah. PTI candidate Niaz Ahmed Jakhar was declared winner with 109,420 votes while Bukhari received 102,943 votes.

MMA candidate Asif Iqbal’s petition of recount in PK-67 Peshawar was also dismissed. PTI candidate Arbab Muhammad Waseem Khanwas declared victorious with 16,912 votes while Iqbal received 11,648 votes.

Meanwhile, independent candidate Masood Nazir’s request was also disposed of to hold vote recount in NA-105 Faisalabad where PTI’s Raza Nasrullah stood on top slot with 77,862 votes while Nazir received 69,211 votes.

In PP-106 Faisalabad, the recount appeal of PTI candidate Sardar Dilnawaz Ahmed Cheema was rejected. He took 20,402 votes and stood second while independent candidate Umar Farooq won with 22,563 votes.

The plea of PPP’s Hakeem Baloch, seeking recounting in NA-237 Karachi was also turned down. In this constituency, PTI candidate Jamil Ahmed Khan emerged victorious after getting 33280 votes while PPP’s Abdul Hakim Baloch stood second with 31907 votes.