Pervez Khattak of PTI was elected Chief Minister of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province on Friday.

Khattak secured 84 votes in the election and Maulana Lutfur Rehman of Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) garnered 37 votes.

Wajihuzzaman of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), who was a candidate for the post, withdrew his nomination at the last minute in favour of the JUI-F candidate.

The process of voting for the position was held under the leadership of Speaker KP Assembly Asad Qaisar.

The election of new leader of the House was held through division of members.

It is for the first time that Tehrik-e-Insaf has got a chance to form a provincial government with the support of allied parties.

Earlier on Thursday, PTI candidates Asad Qaisar and Imtiaz Shahid Qureshi were elected speaker and deputy speaker of the KP Assembly unopposed after the opposition parties withdrew from the contest.